ZEEKtheFREAK is an alternative indie music project started in 1996 by singer-songwriter, musician, and entertainer Zeek.


Originating from Dundee, Scotland, Zeek is the pseudonym of the painter, author, editor, philosopher, and lyricist S. A. Smith.


In the late 1970s, he was the singer and frontman of the comedy/punk band Snap-On Brothers and in the 1980s, half of the duo The Infamous Zeek & Giz. Later he also sang with Dutch metal bands Ebo and Fill Bloom.


The name ZEEKtheFREAK originated from the Snap-On brothers' song of the same name, written in 1977.


Zeek is a multi-instrumental studio recording artist who writes, records and produces his music and CDs.

About The Music:

The music genre is Alternative Rock, with a slice of punk, metal, acoustic and theatrical tendencies.

The live show is well-known in the Alkmaar region of Holland for being Shock-rock, very controversial, and sometimes even perverse.

ZEEKtheFREAK was originally recorded on cassette tapes, but he has had two album CD releases and a new EP and album are expected in 2024/25.

see the music page for all releases:


  • Idiots Seeking Sanctuary at the Armageddon (2008)
  • Spaced Out on Planet Bizarre (2018)
  • The Drowning Man E.P. (expected June 2024)
  • D.I.D. (expected @ begin 2025)


About The Live Band:

In the live band, through the years, from the first show in 1997, many talented (and not-so-talented) musicians have graced the stage with the ZEEKtheFREAK live band on stage...(see photo page)

Other projects:

Besides being a musician, Zeek is also an entertainer, an author, a philosopher, a humorist, a photographer, an editor, and a painter.

Under his birthname, Zeek is a lyricist for other bands.

His other musical projects are Zeek D'Accoustique (acoustic music associated with ZEEKtheFREAK) and the Scottish/Celtic rock band My Celtic Faith.

His other projects include:

  • Editor and humorist of The FOOLS FUNNYBONE (a zany tabloid of actual fake news).
  • Author of novels and short stories
  • He is also an actor (appearing as an extra in a Dutch film, Huisvrouwen bestaan niet 2)